Awards & Honors

American Institute of Architects

College of Fellows, Class of 2021

Fast Company

“World Changing Ideas” Award, Finalist (MORE LA), 2019

AIANY: American Institute of Architects/New York Chapter

“New York Now” Exhibit (Riverways), 2009

Academy of Television Arts and Sciences

Emmy Award for Outstanding Writing for Nonfiction Programming (Andy Warhol: A Documentary Film), 2007

Emmy Award Nomination for Outstanding Non-Fiction Series (New York: A Documentary Film), 2000

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation

Fellow in Architecture (The Experience of Cities), 2007

Theater Library Association

Special Jury Prize (Celluloid Skyline), 2002

Alfred I. duPont-Columbia Award

(New York: A Documentary Film), 2001

Furthermore, a program of the J.M Kaplan Fund

Grant (Celluloid Skyline), 2000

Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Visual Arts

Fellowship in Architecture (Celluloid Skyline), 1988

American Theater Wing

Design Award Nomination (Victory Theater Project), 1990

Copley Square National Design Competition, Boston

Certificate of Merit, 1984

Architectural League of New York

Architectural League Prize for Young Architects & Designers (Bryant Park Project), 1981

Municipal Art Society

Annual Merit Award (Bryant Park Project), 1981

National Endowment for the Arts

Design Arts Fellowship (At Home in the City), 1979, 1980

Ernest O. Grunsfeld Foundation

Research Award (At Home in the City), 1977

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Research Scholarship Award (At Home in the City), 1977

NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission

Landmark Scholar, 1976

Columbia University

Chanler Historical Prize, 1976

Next to Talks & Interviews